Skip to Main Content


Maryland’s unique history is inextricably linked to America’s very underpinnings. The colonial Act of Tolerance laid the foundations of our Constitution’s First Amendment. George Washington famously resigned his commission as commander of the Army in Annapolis in 1783. Annapolis was the temporary capital of the United States and still features the oldest working State House in America. Maryland is also home to the “Star Spangled Banner,” and historic African American leaders such as Frederick Douglass, Harriet Tubman and Thurgood Marshall. The famous Maryland 400 quite possibly saved the Revolutionary War at the Battle of Brooklyn.

“Maryland will be sure to commemorate a 250th birthday that matches our state’s indispensable contributions to the birth of our nation,” said Maryland Semiquincentennial Commission Chairman Nina Easton. “We intend to tell the rich story of the people, places, and things that only Maryland could provide in the pursuit of liberty, freedom, and the American spirit and this includes often underrepresented voices who must be part of this historic narrative.”


  • Chair, Nina J. Easton, SellersEaston Media 
  • Vice Chair Designate, Ike Leggett, former executive of Montgomery County 
  • Elaine Bachmann, State Archivist
  • Angelica Bailey, Maryland Municipal League
  • Lindsey Baker, Maryland Humanities Council
  • Gregory Bartles, Maryland Natural Resources Police Volunteer 
  • Luis Borunda, Secretary of State’s Office
  • Jack Broderick, Kent Island Heritage Society
  • Keith Colston, Maryland Commission on Indian Affairs
  • Gene Deems, Department of Natural Resources
  • Senator Sarah Elfreth, Maryland General Assembly
  • Judith Emmel, Maryland Commission for Women  
  • Joni Floyd, University of Maryland 
  • Hon. Joseph M. Getty, Maryland Court of Appeals
  • Kris A. Hoellen, B&O Railroad Museum 
  • Elizabeth Hughes, Maryland Historical Trust
  • Patrick J. Lally, The Governor’s Office of Community Initiatives in the Governor’s Coordinating Offices
  • Steven X. Lee, Maryland Commission on African American History and Culture
  • Bruce Lesh, Maryland State Department of Education
  • Pete Lesher, Maryland Association of Counties
  • Mark Letzer, Maryland Center for History and Culture
  • Luis A Luna, Department of General Services
  • Robert S. McCord, Maryland Department of Planning
  • Denise Nooe, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Nicholas Redding, Preservation Maryland
  • Tom Riford, Department of Commerce
  • Reggie Turner, Commission on African American History and Culture
  • Mark Wasserman, University of Maryland Medical System
  • Paul Webb, Department of Budget and Management

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.
Take Our Survey
Governor's Office

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential
More Information on human trafficking in Maryland