Skip to Main Content

Governor’s Commission on South Asian American Affairs

Commission Members:
Ethnicity and county of residence in parentheses


Chanhok Jasdip “Jesse” Singh, Chair (Indian, Anne Arundel)

Vice Chair:
Sajid “CJ” Tarar, Vice Chair (Pakastani, Baltimore)

Arthur Pavan Bezwada (Indian, Montgomery)
Kawaljit Bhutani (Indian, Montgomery)
Nipika Borah (Indian, Montgomery)
Anjana Bordoloi (Indian, Howard)
Ishani Chowdhury (Indian, Montgomery)
Sharad Doshi (Indian, Frederick County)
Mohan L. Grover (Indian, Anne Arundel)
Arundhotee Goswami (Indian, Montgomery)
Upendra Gupta (Indian, Montgomery)
Shyam D. Karki (Nepali, Baltimore)
Gurpreet K. Kaur (Indian, Frederick)
Ram Mohan Konda (Indian, Montgomery)
Mayur Mody (Indian, Montgomery)
Shailesh J. Patel (Indian, Baltimore)
Asoka Ramaweera (Sri Lankan, Montgomery)
Darshan S. Saluja, M.D. (Indian, Baltimore)
Rana J. Shaikh (Kashmiri/Pakistani, Montgomery)
Kanishk Sharma (Indian, Howard)
Baljinder Singh (Indian, Baltimore)

2018 Public Commission Meetings
March 7, 2018
6:00 pm – 8:00 pm
Anne Arundel County
100 Community Place
Crownsville, MD  21032

June 6, 2018
6:00 pm – 8:00 pm
Montgomery County
Location TBD

August 8, 2018
6:00 pm – 8:00 pm
Prince George’s County
Location TBD


Administrative Director
Christina Poy

Commission Documents
Executive Order
2013 Annual Report
2012 Annual Report