Skip to Main Content

Governor Hogan Announces Appointments to Three Ethnic Commissions

– Governor Larry Hogan today announced his appointments to the following ethnic commissions–the Governor’s Commission on African Affairs, Governor’s Commission on Middle Eastern American Affairs, and Governor’s Commission on South Asian American Affairs.

“Each commissioner we appoint to our eight ethnic commissions brings a unique perspective on business, community, and cultural issues that are important both to their respective communities and Maryland as a whole,” said Governor Hogan. “I look forward to working with our new appointees in the areas of business and economic development, education, and more, and I have every confidence they will work hard to change Maryland for the better.”

The commissions, overseen by the Governor’s Office of Community Initiatives, represent and engage Maryland’s ethnic communities in partnership with state government to promote social, cultural, and business interests. Additionally, they help to identify the issues affecting those communities and develop the appropriate responses and programs, including outreach and disseminating information about public and private programs; and make recommendations on matters affecting the general health, safety, and welfare of these ethnic communities in Maryland.

Governor’s Commission on African Affairs

Kehinde Oreagba (Chair) Ngozi Irondi-Azubike
Theo Ngongang (Vice Chair) Sheila P. Jennifer
Olaolu S. Adewole Samuel B. Moki
Darlene M. Ajayi
Suna G. Nallo
Mohamed L. Bah Kate F. Njeuma
Allen Blackwell III Frederick Nnoma-Addison
Kamissa Camara Joshua M. Nzueni
Guy P. Djoken O. Felix Obi
Leticia Enos Cyriacus (Cy) Okoro
Muharija Gadah Henrietta M. Okoro, Ph.D.
Abimbola Folashade Idowu, Ph.D.

Governor’s Commission on Middle Eastern American Affairs

Mehtap Sendur (Chair) Gilda O. Karpouzian, Esq.
Madeline Suggs (Vice Chair) Neveen McLeod, Esq.
Chadi Soliman Abdeldayem Abba David Poliakoff, Esq.
Rudwan Abu-Rumman Farzaneh M. Riar
Haitham M. Alkhateeb Mohamad H. Shahine
John Baddour Suliman Shihadeh
Karen Paikin Barall Joseph A. (Jay) Taylor
Sarit Brosh Ibrahim Uyar
Enas Elhanafi Siron Zidan
Randa Fahmy, Esq.

Governor’s Commission on South Asian American Affairs

Chanhok Jasdip Singh (Chair) Gurpreet K. Kaur
Sajid Tarar (Vice Chair) Ram Mohan Konda
Kawaljit Bhutani Mayur Mody
Nipika Borah Shailesh J. Patel
Anjana Bordoloi Asoka Ranaweera
Ishani Chowdhury Darshan S. Saluja, M.D.
Mohan L. Grover Rana J. Shaikh
Upendra Gupta Baljinder Singh
Shyam D. Karki

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.
Take Our Survey

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential
More Information on human trafficking in Maryland